HOW I SPENT MY SUMMER VACATION

No, I am not planning on providing a recitation of Cheech and Chong’s 1973 comedy routine from their infamous comedy skit, Sister Mary Elephant. Today’s blog celebrates the work of our departing summer interns, Armando Suarez and Miriam Kashem, both having finished up their volunteer internships this month and heading off to pursue a Masters in Library Science. Mr. Suarez has already left for North Carolina where he will be continuing his education at UNC Chapel Hill. Ms. Kashem leaves next week for Simmons College in Boston.

In summarizing her work experience in our museum library, Miriam wrote that “Interning at the Wolfsonian-FIU rare books and special collections library has allowed me to hold historical artifacts in my hands and learn how to preserve them. The experience has given me a new outlook on museums and institutions that seek to preserve and make accessible aspects of cultures and societies for the benefit of the public. I have also gained skills which will put me ahead in graduate school and in my career. I am very grateful for having had the opportunity to work and learn here.”

We wish both of our interns the best of luck in their academic pursuits.

~ by "The Chief" on August 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
